Afterschool Ambassadors

The Afterschool Alliance's Afterschool Ambassador program identifies afterschool providers and advocates of special achievement and helps them raise their voices in support of afterschool.

The Afterschool Alliance's Afterschool Ambassador program identifies afterschool providers and advocates of special achievement and helps them raise their voices in support of afterschool.

Selected from some of most effective afterschool programs and advocacy organizations in the nation, Ambassadors work every day to help keep kids safe, inspire children to learn and help working families. They know firsthand the barriers and benefits that communities face in making afterschool available to all children. The Alliance selects 12 to 20 Ambassadors from around the country each year, and then provides training, technical support, and modest funding for their Ambassadorial activities throughout the school year. Those activities include: coordinating a major Lights On Afterschool community event; working in concert with other local providers, advocates and business and community leaders to promote afterschool; reaching out to policy makers and the media on afterschool issues; and more.

The 2017-2018 Afterschool Ambassadors are listed below. To see previous years' participants, see our Ambassador Emeritus page.  Ambassadors are chosen by application in the spring. For information on how to apply to become an Ambassador, contact the Afterschool Alliance, or call (202) 347-2030.

Chris Bass

Columbus Parks and Recreation
P.O. Box 1340
Columbus, GA 31902
706-225-4652
cbass@columbusga.org

Andrea Bridges

The CARE Center
P.O. Box 51
New Hope, AL 35760
256-723-2273
afmbridges@hotmail.com
+ Read News Release

Michael ("Bull") Brown

Coffee County 21st CCLC/ Boys and Girls Club of Coffee County Region
210 West Jackson St.
Douglas, GA 31533
912-384-0222
Michael.Brown@coffee.k12.ga.us
+ Read News Release

Jenn Carter

Lewiston 21st Century
36 Oak Street
Lewiston, ME 04240
207-212-6605
jcarter@lewistonpublicschools.org
+ Read News Release

Mike Cassidy

City of Surprise Youth Services
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
623-222-1033
Mike.cassidy1722@gmail.com
+ Read News Release

Mark Cowsert

Tiger Academy-Hollister Schools
1794 State Highway BB
Hollister, MO 65672
417-243-4080
mcowsert@hollisterschools.com

Desiree Frederick

Boys & Girls Club of Huntington County
608 E. State Street
Huntington, IN 46750
260-359-1750
desiree@bgchuntington.com
+ Read News Release

Johanna L. Friedel M.Ed.

Afterschool Center of Education at Greenville ISD
ADDRESS TBA
Greenville, TX
512-585-8082
friedelj@greenvilleisd.com
+ Read News Release

Christy Gallese

Burlington School District
150 Colchester Ave.
Burlington, VT 05401
802-540-0285 x71200
cgallese@bsdvt.org
+ Read News Release

Jack Garcia

San Benito Consolidated Independent School District Afterschool Program
240 North Crockett
San Benito, TX 78586
956-361-6450
jacgarcia@sbcisd.net
+ Read News Release

Eva Harlow

Deer Valley Unified School District
20402 N. 15th Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85027
623-445-5005
Eva.Harlow@dvusd.org
+ Read News Release

McKenna Hines

21st Century Community Learning Center ? Southside Elementary
501 S 9th St.
Elko, NV 89801
775-738-3731
Mhines2@ecsdnv.net
+ Read News Release

Jessica Knudson

Mendoza Elementary School
2000 South Sloan Lane
Las Vegas, NV 89142
702-799-8680, ex 4019
Knudsjm1@nv.ccsd.net

Billy Mawhiney

Boys & Girls Clubs of the Sioux Empire
700 S Sneve Ave.
Sioux Falls, SD 57103
605-306-5094
bmawhiney@bgcsiouxempire.org
+ Read News Release

Heather Schloeman

Boys & Girls Clubs of the Kenai Peninsula
705 Frontage Road, Suite B
Kenai, AK 99611
907-283-2682
hschloeman@positiveplaceforkids.com
+ Read News Release