Afterschool Ambassadors

The Afterschool Alliance's Afterschool Ambassador program identifies afterschool providers and advocates of special achievement and helps them raise their voices in support of afterschool.

The Afterschool Alliance's Afterschool Ambassador program identifies afterschool providers and advocates of special achievement and helps them raise their voices in support of afterschool.

Selected from some of most effective afterschool programs and advocacy organizations in the nation, Ambassadors work every day to help keep kids safe, inspire children to learn and help working families. They know firsthand the barriers and benefits that communities face in making afterschool available to all children. The Alliance selects 12 to 20 Ambassadors from around the country each year, and then provides training, technical support, and modest funding for their Ambassadorial activities throughout the school year. Those activities include: coordinating a major Lights On Afterschool community event; working in concert with other local providers, advocates and business and community leaders to promote afterschool; reaching out to policy makers and the media on afterschool issues; and more.

The 2015-2016 Afterschool Ambassadors are listed below. To see previous years' participants, see our Ambassador Emeritus page.  Ambassadors are chosen by application in the spring. For information on how to apply to become an Ambassador, contact the Afterschool Alliance, or call (202) 347-2030.

Colleen Abbott

Learning Enriched Afterschool Program (LEAP)
112 S. Pine Street
Eldon, MO 65026
573-392-8060, x5
Colleen.Abbott@EldonMustangs.org
+ Read News Release

Jannette Adams

Mississippi Valley State University
P.O. Box 7226
Itta Bena, MS 38941-1400
662-254-3747
jsadams@mvsu.edu
+ Read News Release

Marcel Braithwaite

The Police Athletic League
34 1/2 East 12th Street
New York, NY 10003
212-244-9450, x394
mbraithwaite@palnyc.org
+ Read News Release

Kasey Carter

Communities In Schools of Greenbrier County
P.O. Box 1188
Lewsiburg, WV 24901
304-661-1018
kcarter@cisgc.org
+ Read News Release

Kelly Drummond

Boys & Girls Clubs in Tennessee
1100 Marion Street, Suite 100
Knoxville, TN 37921
865-607-9337
kdrummond@bgctnv.org
+ Read News Release

Mark Fopeano

Dwight Hall at Yale
67 High Street/P.O. Box 209008
New Haven, CT 6520
203-432-2446
mark.fopeano@yale.edu
+ Read News Release

Ally Graul

Alternatives, Inc.
359 Fenwick Road, Bldg 263
Fort Monroe, VA 23651
757-838-2330
agraul@altinc.org
+ Read News Release

Brigitte Gurden

Boys & Girls Club of Morgan County
490 St. Clair Street
Mooresville, IN 46158
317-834-9477
bgurden@bgcofmorganco.org
+ Read News Release

Patricia Johnson

21st CCLC
2006 Tower Drive
Monroe, LA 71201
318-387-6511, x5007
johnson.patricia@mcschools.net
+ Read News Release

Christian Kibler

Burnsville Youth Collaborative
200 West Burnsville Parkway
Burnsville, MN 55337
952-707-4107
ckibler@isd191.org
+ Read News Release

Kat Stork

Caroline County Recreation & Parks
107 South 4th Street
Denton, MD 21629
410-479-8120
kstork@carolinemd.org
+ Read News Release

Kimberley Templeman

21st CCLC
1450 S. Eastern
Oklahoma City, OK 73129
405-677-5211
kimtempleman@crookedoak.org
+ Read News Release

Patrick Wilhelm

Scholars Unlimited
3401 Quebec Street, #5010
Denver, CO 80207
720-424-9719
pwilhelm@scholarsunlimited.org
+ Read News Release

Michael Wilson

Glen Iris Elementary School
1115 11th Street South
Birmingham, AL 35206
205-231-7442
mwilson@bhm.k12.al.us
+ Read News Release

Beth Wyant

21st CCLC
701 Rentschler Lane
Toppenish, WA 98948
509-865-7630, x2747
bethw@yvfwc.org
+ Read News Release