Afterschool Ambassadors

The Afterschool Alliance's Afterschool Ambassador program identifies afterschool providers and advocates of special achievement and helps them raise their voices in support of afterschool.

The Afterschool Alliance's Afterschool Ambassador program identifies afterschool providers and advocates of special achievement and helps them raise their voices in support of afterschool.

Selected from some of most effective afterschool programs and advocacy organizations in the nation, Ambassadors work every day to help keep kids safe, inspire children to learn and help working families. They know firsthand the barriers and benefits that communities face in making afterschool available to all children. The Alliance selects 12 to 20 Ambassadors from around the country each year, and then provides training, technical support, and modest funding for their Ambassadorial activities throughout the school year. Those activities include: coordinating a major Lights On Afterschool community event; working in concert with other local providers, advocates and business and community leaders to promote afterschool; reaching out to policy makers and the media on afterschool issues; and more.

The 2024 Afterschool Ambassadors are listed below. To see previous years' participants, see our Ambassador Emeritus page.  Ambassadors are chosen by application in the spring. For information on how to apply to become an Ambassador, contact the Afterschool Alliance, or call (202) 347-2030.

Cecelia Armstrong

Sunrise of Philadelphia
907 Cantrell Street
Philadelphia, PA 19148
267-838-0168
carmstrong@sunriseofphila.org

Joel Bramhall

Cardinal Community Learning Centers
930 Main Avenue
Crete, NE 68333
402-826-9836
joel.bramhall@creteschools.org

Mandi Browning

The PEAK Learning Center
1500 East 128th Avenue
Thornton, CO 80241
720-972-6996
mandi.j.browning@adams12.org

Arin Casavant

Gateway to Science
1600 Canary Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58501
701-751-6906
arin@gscience.org

Sindy Dawkins-Schade

SHADES of Development
6701 West Emory Road
Knoxville, TN 37931
865-938-9164
sindy@shadesofdevelopment.org

Deanna Dugan

Propel Schools
3447 East Carson Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15203
412-325-7305 x1590
ddugan@propelschools.org

Tasha Esham

Boys & Girls Club of Western Sussex - Laurel Site
316 N Central Avenue
Laurel, DE 19956
302-875-1200
tesham@bgclubs.org

Aaron Frumin

unCommon Construction
PO Box 791438
New Orleans, LA 70119
504-321-1588
info@uncommonconstruction.org

DeAndra Harrison

Actions that Matter 4 Youth
1554 Polaris Pkwy, Ste. 325
Columbus, OH 43240
614-622-4898
outofschool@atm4youth.org

Teahonna James-Belin

Navajo Preparatory School
1220 W Apache Street
Farmington, NM 87401
505-326-6571
tjames@navajoprep.com

Kasey Morgan

MyCom
13815 Kinsman Road
Cleveland, OH 44120
216-399-2274
kasey@mycomcle.org

Yashica Newby

Boys and Girls Clubs of Metro Louisiana
8281 Goodwood Blvd., Suite A
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
225-733-1473
yashica@bgcmetrolouisiana.org

Linda Phillips

Des Moines Public Schools
2820 Center Street
Des Moines, IA 50312
515-829-7658
linda.phillips@dmschools.org

Elliot A. Rivera

Youth In Action
672 Broad Street
Providence, RI 02907
401-751-4264
elliot@youthinactionri.org

Beth Wiseman

Learning Grove
333 Madison Ave.
Covington, KY 41011
513-335-9603
bwiseman@learning-grove.org