AFTERSCHOOL IN

California


Afterschool programs in California keep kids safe, inspire learning, and give working parents peace of mind. Kids discover who they are and what they love to do, make smart choices, and avoid risky behaviors.

Unmet demand for afterschool in California is high

Download the fact sheet for California

Unmet demand in California is high as parents see key benefits from afterschool

78%

say afterschool keeps kids safe and out of trouble

81%

say afterschool excites kids about learning

83%

say afterschool helps kids build life skills

84%

say afterschool gives working parents peace of mind

Learn more about afterschool in California

California parents strongly support afterschool

88%

of parents support public funding for afterschool

21st Century Community Learning Centers are the only federal funded before-school, afterschool, and summer learning programs.

TODAY

FY 2020

152,238*

of kids enrolled in California afterschool attend a 21st CCLC program

$152,237,894

in federal funds supports 21st CCLC programs statewide

PROPOSED BUDGET

FY 2021

0

kids served in California

$0

to California

Learn more about 21st Century Community Learning Centers

* This figure is an Afterschool Alliance calculation based on the state-allocated 21st CCLC funding and a program cost of $1,000 per child. The program cost per child is an Afterschool Alliance estimation based on the Department of Education's per-student expenditures for: (1) all students attending 21st CCLC programs and (2) students who regularly attend 21st CCLC programs.

Learn More about Afterschool in California

California Contacts

NETWORK
AMBASSADORS
CAUCUS
VISTA

The statewide afterschool network is working to ensure that all kids have access to high-quality afterschool and summer learning programs.

Jeff Davis
California AfterSchool Network
1102 Q Street
Suite 4800
Sacramento, CA 95811
916-325-0854
jdavis@afterschoolnetwork.org
http://www.afterschoolnetwork.org/

AMBASSADORS work to ensure that all kids have access to high-quality afterschool and summer learning programs.

Ambassador Emeritus
Leslie Einhorn
CASA (Children's After School Arts)
584 Castro Street, #264
San Francisco, CA 94114
415-643-2272
leslie@casasf.org

Ambassador Emeritus
Anna Araujo
East Los Angeles Rising
324 North McDonnell Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90022
(323) 263-4955 x 105
anna@risinginc.org

Ambassador Emeritus
Tariq Norris
The Hidden Genius Project
2934 Telegraph Ave.
Oakland, CA 94609
(510) 414-8881
tariq@hiddengeniusproject.org

Ambassador Emeritus
Sandra Birmingham
CSU Channel Islands
One University Drive
Camarillo, CA 93012
(805) 437-3597
sandra.birmingham@csuci.edu

Ambassador Emeritus
Roy Mendiola
Firebaugh-Las Deltas Unified School District
1976 Morris Kyle Dr Second Floor
Firebaugh, CA 93622-9711
(559) 659-1476
rmendiola@fldusd.org

Ambassador Emeritus
Garrett Shipes
GREENFIELD SUCCESS AFTER SCHOOL
1624 Fairview Road
Bakersfield, CA 93304
(661) 837-6070
shipesg@gfusd.k12.ca.us

Ambassador Emeritus
Cathie Mostovoy
Mostovoy Strategies, LLP
CA (310) 936-8207
cathie@mostovoystrategies.com

Ambassador Emeritus
Stephanie Roberts
Mt. Diablo CARES
1026 Mohr Lane
Concord, CA 94518-1102
(925) 682-8000 x6203
robertss@mdusd.k12.ca.us

Ambassador Emeritus
Kasey Blackburn-Jiron
Oakland Unified School District
746 Grand Avenue
Oakland, CA 94610
(510) 568-1030
kasey.blackburn@ousd.k12.ca.us

Ambassador Emeritus
John Poch
San Jose Sports Authority
408 Almaden Boulevard
San Jose, CA 95110
(408) 288-2935
john@sjsa.org

Ambassador Emeritus
Pamela Brasher
Santee School District
9619 Cuyamaca St
Santee, CA 92071-2674
(619) 258-2369
pam.brasher@santeesd.net

Ambassador Emeritus
Steve Amick
T.H.I.N.K. Together
2101-A E. Fourth Street
Santa Ana, CA 92705
(619) 672-4673
samick@thinktogether.org

Ambassador Emeritus
Mary Hoshiko Haughey
YMCA of Silicon Valley
80 Silicon Valley
Santa Clara, CA 95051
(408) 351-6400
mhaughey@ymcasv.org

Ambassador Emeritus
John Ervin
Aspire Public Schools
3311 E. Morada Lane
Stockton, CA 95205
(209) 647-3047
john.ervin@aspirepublicschools.org

Ambassador Emeritus
Jaynemarie Enyonam Angbah
Charles and Lynn Schusterman Family Foundation?,"625 Market Street
Suite #700
San Francisco, CA 94105
(415) 528-7630
jangbah@schusterman.org

Since 2005, members of the Afterschool Caucus in both the Senate and the House of Representatives have been building support and resources for quality afterschool programs.

Caucus members in your state:

Rep Doris Matsui (D-CA)

Rep Barbara Lee (D-CA)

Rep Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)

Rep Adam Schiff (D-CA)

Rep Susan Davis (D-CA)

Sen Diane Feinstein (D-CA)

For the past 7 years, the Afterschool Alliance has been a proud sponsor organization for national AmeriCorps VISTA projects, supporting State Afterschool Networks and STEM Ecosystems to increase the access to and quality of enrichment opportunities for youth.

Currently there are no Afterschool VISTA locations in your state.

TAKE ACTION!

Tell Congress to save California's afterschool programs!

Sign the petition to support afterschool!

Donate $10 to help 4 kids have afterschool